Trev’s Traveler’s Travel Tag

I have a desire to travel.  I want to look back on these times when I am older with the knowledge that I have expanded my perspective of the world.  Travel is a thrill-seeker’s dream and I would not trade my travel experiences for anything.

Where was your first plane to?

My first plane trip was to Disneyland in California at the age of 3 with my family.  I don’t remember much about the trip except for the fact that I was psyched out.  What 3-year old wouldn’t be excited about Disneyland?

Where have you traveled to that you would love to travel again?

This list would be pretty long.  There are places in France and Italy that I would want to revisit because a few days were nowhere near enough for some places.  Annecy and Varenna were two small towns that I could spend another week visiting.  For the larger, tourist-y places, I would revisit Lyon, Paris, and Copenhagen because I was unable to explore these large cities fully.

I would also want to return to Hawaii for their amazing fish and laid-back atmosphere.  People in Hawaii are relaxed and do not rush for anything!  I could spend every day in shorts and flip-flops.

You’re leaving tomorrow, money is no object… where are you going?

South America.  I want to see glaciers in Argentina, hike Machu Picchu, explore the Amazon, and lounge on the beaches of Rio.  I have never been to the continent before and South America destinations aren’t known for big spenders, but I think South America is next on my to-go list.

Imagine seeing this after a hike
Imagine seeing this after a hike
Pretty famous picture
Pretty famous picture

Preferred method of travel; planes trains or cars?

Honestly, I travel on a pretty tight budget, so whichever method is cheapest.  I would enjoy travelling by car the most because of the flexibility it affords you.

Favorite travel website?

Rough Guides is one of my favorites because it offers excellent visuals when looking at travel destinations.  They have a great rotation of articles on places that I would never think of researching.  I love looking at the “Things not to Miss” articles when preparing to visit a destination.

Before leaving on a trip, I often look at reviews on TripAdvisor (only for attractions),  Yelp for convenient eats, and food blogs for “must-try” places.  Reading other people’s blogs on places are one of the best ways to learn about a place before visiting.  I realize that not all experiences are the same, but I have saved a lot of headache through travelers’ tips.

Where would you travel just to eat the food?

I would go to Greece just for the food and stay for a whole bunch of other things.  I love souvlaki, calamari, tzatziki, spanakopita, Greek salad, and the list goes on.\

Is there a place you would never go again?

If I had to choose one, I would say Hong Kong.  I hesitate to say never, but it would not be one of my choices if I were to travel to Asia.  For me, Hong Kong is too crowded and there is too much pollution.  I don’t like places that I can’t enjoy the outdoors.  Hong Kong has good food, a great night life, and it is tourist-friendly.  However, the residents have a fierce sense of belonging.  They treat their friends extremely well, but they treat strangers equally poorly.

Plus, how does a death happen in a 24/7 McDonalds restaurant without anyone noticing for a day? I would not want to be in a place where you could be ignored for an entire day.  The homeless in Hong Kong must mean so little to keep carrying on with your daily life, regardless of a body in the restaurant.

“Immediately after the incident, we conducted a thorough disinfection of the Ping Shek Estate restaurant, which remains open as usual,” – McDonalds Hong Kong

A story like this makes me hesitate to return to this city.

Can you recite your passport number from memory if asked?

I know the first two letters.

Do you go for the window, middle or aisle seat?

It depends.  If it is a short flight, I’d love the window.  On longer flights I actually prefer the aisle for the option of walking around and sometimes stretching my legs out.  On a ten hour flight, I had a window seat and had to climb over an elderly man sitting on the aisle seat every time I needed to use the bathroom.  I felt horrible for making him get up so many times.

How do you pass the time on a plane?

Music is a must for me.  I also usually bring a few books, and my notebook to write in.  Occasionally, I talk to my neighbors, but only when I think we would hit it off. It is a little awkward to pass nine hours beside someone you had a poor conversation with.

Leave a Reply

