NaNoWriMo 2015: The Beginning

Writing Month

Since I am relatively new to the blog-o-sphere and I have just started blogging consistently, the existence of National November Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) and National Blog Posting Month (NaBloPoMo) has just been brought to my attention.  I have already set a goal for myself to blog twice a week, so my intent will be targeting NaNoWriMo.  This will be the first time I have tried to enforce a timeline on my writing, so here’s to hoping that it will work.

National November Writing Month seems like something that would be right in my wheelhouse.  For those who are as unaware as me, NaNoWriMo challenges people to write 50,000 words in the month of November and provides a supportive community to encourage aspiring writers.  Since I live alone and work full-time, I think it would be hard for me to write 1,700 words a day, but I will do my best.

My realistic goal is to hit 25,000 words for my novel (current word count is a shade over 1,900) but I will be reaching for that 50,000.  I am a strong proponent to let writing take place naturally, as I feel that being in that “zone” produces great literature. However, I have been procrastinating quite a bit on this novel, so I think this would be a great challenge.

My novel is very personal and I had started writing this spring.  The 1,900 words I have written up to today is deceptive, as parts of it are notes for the outline of the novel.  I tend to skip around when I find something inspiring to write and I have not decided the order in which I will arrange the chapters.  This writing journey will be messy and the product may not make sense, but I think it is a great way to get some motivation.  I think I will be blogging about my experience in writing this novel, but not the content.

Cheers and happy writing to all aspiring bloggers and writers out there! Best of luck and may your fingers have enough strength to endure this marathon.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Garagelit says:

    Awesome! Good luck!

    Like

    1. clevertrev says:

      Thank you!! I hope I will have enough motivation to write as much as you.

      Like

Leave a Reply

