NaNoWriMo Day 4: Regrouping and Learning

Yesterday, I finally got some more time to write, about four hours in total.  I was nearing the 5000 word count on my first novel when I started scanning my written work for the past few days and I felt extremely dissatisfied.  From reading other challengers’ blogs, I know that it is common to want to edit your NaNoWriMo work, but I couldn’t resist revisiting my writing.  I groaned, hopefully not too audibly, and started cutting chunks out of my word document.  If it was on paper, I would have ripped it up in dramatic fashion.

The problem with my NaNoWriMo project is that the story was too personal to write on a one-month challenge.  Since I am so deeply invested in the story, I feel that my words should be well-thought out and my thoughts should be coherent.  I would not be happy letting anyone close to me read the words I have written in the last few days.  Trying to force a few thousand words a week of carefully crafted literature is near impossible (at least for the amount of time I have).  I realized that I would want to spend at least a few months writing this book.

NaNoWriMoLeLe (Lesson learnt): Choose a story that doesn’t have a ton of personal meaning.  It was probably a newbie writer’s mistake to start off the challenge like this.

download

I have decided to restart my challenge with a new novel, a book that I would not mind spitting out 50 000 less-than-perfect words.  I am still developing an outline for this novel, but I am enamored with the idea.  It will be a dystopian fiction based on the concept that everybody has a “number” that is easily visible to others.  Numbers represent the “goodness” of a person, an ethical ranking that tries to force people to act in the interest of others.  The number, calculated by an algorithm maintained by a coalition of governments, acts as a ranking that divides society and keeps social order.  Citizens are compensated and treated according to their grade, with the highest numbers receiving the most fame and wealth.

I really hate coming up with names, as I cannot ever think of one that doesn’t sound dumb to me.  The protagonist will struggle to understand ethics, the dystopian social system, and people who don’t fit into the system.  He is in the upper-class, living comfortably, which is achieved through a life-time of good deeds.  I have not yet decided how the rebels are going to be portrayed.

I really like this idea because I have dabbled in studying ethics and I have taken multiple ethics classes that often end up in debates.  Dystopian fiction seems to be all the rage right now and I think it is a great creative outlet.  I have quite a bit of work to do to catch up to the rest of the NaNo-sphere.

Word Count: 1356/6667

Happy typing!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Live*Happy*Adventures says:

    I nearly did that yesterday. My sister talked me out it of it. I decided to be a pantser, so not my style but I tried it. This is my first too. I took what I had and tweaked the story a bit to keep using what I wrote. I have been slow going having no outline or anything to keep my mind focused. I am currently on a break to develop a little more and will pick up tomorrow. Good luck!!

    Like

    1. clevertrev says:

      I think that there are some stories that need a bit more time to complete and I would feel too rushed doing it during NaNoWriMo. If you’re happy with your work with the tweaks, I think it would be a great idea. Mines is just put on the back burner for a while. Best of luck with your writing as well! It’s nice to know I’m not the only one with these problems.

      Like

Leave a Reply

