NaNoWriMo 2015: The ideal challenger

Hurrah! It’s the last official day of the NaNoWriMo challenge and I offer congratulations to all those who have suffered and enjoyed the last month.  It’s amazing how many people were able to complete their goals, be it the 50 000 or another personal goal.  For those writers are desperately typing to reach that goal, good luck for the next 14 hours.

My opinion on this event has changed significantly from the beginning of the month.  I was extremely eager to write and I thought that these word goals were a great way to stave off the procrastination that always hits me.  I had set my goal to 25 000 to allow time for other necessary things.  I truly believe that I would have reached this goal if I completed the entire month.  Alas, lofty goals be the plight of the NaNoWriMo participant (just joking…more like a job, chores, loved ones, running out of snacks and exhaustion).

Here are some conditions that would make you an ideal NaNoWriMo challenger:

  • You have at least an hour of free time every day and are willing to give up the activities that take up your free time for a month.
  • You have a plan or outline for your novel.  It doesn’t need to be a concrete plan, but the more information you have prepared, the easier the process becomes.
  • You can resist the urge to edit or revise your work (at least until the month is up.
  • You are willing to sacrifice your social life.  You probably have to give up weekend nights, going out after work, or other fun things to go home and write.
  • You have had problems with procrastination when writing in the past.
  • You enjoy a challenge.  This month will be tough!

If any of these describe you, consider trying the challenge in 2016.

eat-sleep-write-nanowrimo1

My Adventure:

I had the best intentions in starting the challenge and kept a good pace throughout the first week.  The biggest problem I have with the challenge is the feeling that it is all about the word count.  I understand that a concrete number for a daily goal (1 667) is a great way to motivate a writer to complete a novel, but I enjoy the feeling that I wrote a perfect paragraph.

On the month, I wrote around 20 000 words, but the words were spread around separate novels and blog postings.  I am pretty happy about how much writing I accomplished this month and most of the time I wrote cut away from watching TV shows or playing games.  However, reflecting on the past month, I could not see myself writing even near 50 000 words, of a satisfactory quality, without sacrificing time I needed for other important things.

I have realized that this challenge is not for me, but I still think it is deserving of an attempt.  The community behind NaNoWriMo is incredibly supportive and the site provides feedback and help for aspiring writers.  Furthermore, there are so many people who are able to keep pace with the 50 000 and have great advice on how to do so.  I probably did not spend as much time writing as I could have, but I do think I learnt a great deal from this experience.

 

 

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. RedHeadedBookLover says:

    Hi there! I just wanted to say that I really enjoyed reading this blog post of yours! It was so amazing. I just checked out your blog because of this and I couldn’t help but press follow immediately because your blog is both amazing and beautiful! I am so happy I came across your blog. Can’t wait to read more from you, keep it up (:
    By the way this comment is towards all of your blog posts because they are all amazing!

    Like

    1. clevertrev says:

      Thank you so much!! It is nice to hear that you enjoyed it 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

